Monday, April 28, 2014

State Party chairwoman announces honorary co-chairmen for 2014 Democratic State Convention

HARTFORD - Connecticut Democratic Party Chairwoman Nancy DiNardo named five honorary co-chairmen for the 2014 Democratic State Convention, according to a release.

This year’s convention – where Democratic candidates for the state’s six Constitutional Offices will be nominated for party endorsement – will be held at 4:30 p.m. May 16 at the Connecticut Convention Center in Hartford.

 “It is my distinct honor to appoint five great Democrats to these positions,” DiNardo said in the release. “The Co-Chairs will serve as the local faces of the Convention and will help illuminate the ideals of the Democratic Party while building excitement as the event nears.”

 "This is the first time in the state Party’s history that such positions have been named.," the release said. 
DiNardo was unanimously selected as the Convention’s temporary chairwoman by the Democratic State Central Committee – the Party’s governing body – in February, the release said.
Those named are:  

CD 1: The Honorable M. Saud Anwar (South Windsor) – Mayor, South Windsor

 CD 2: The Honorable Chet Morgan (Vernon) – Former Member, Connecticut General Assembly; Retired Member, Connecticut Army National Guard

CD 3: The Honorable Scott Jackson (Hamden) – Mayor, Hamden

 CD 4: The Honorable Cristin McCarthy Vahey (Fairfield) – Selectman, Fairfield

 CD 5: The Honorable Victor Lopez, Jr. (Waterbury) – Alderman, Waterbury; President, Hispanic Coalition of Greater Waterbury, Inc.


Editor's note: All information in this post was contributed. Click one of the buttons below to share it.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home